Did you have a happy Easter despite British chocolate maker Cadbury removing the word “Easter” from its Easter eggs? Christians immediately took to the streets, blowing up candy stores and beheading Cadbury executives. Oh wait. No they didn’t.
In response, Cadbury tweeted that they didn’t ban the word “Easter”, just moved the E-word to the back of the package. If you look really, really hard, you’ll find it . . . somewhere.
I went over the wording on the back of the package with a magnifying glass and the word Easter is AWOL. Looks like Cadbury isn’t telling the truth.
Yet, while Cadbury is apparently embarrassed by the E-word, the company isn’t shy at all about the H-word as in “Halal”, foods that are permissible for Muslims to eat or drink under Islamic Sharia law.
Last year, Cadbury received Halal certification for their Easter chocolates. Imagine that, if you can.
Easter on the FRONT of packages for Cadbury Easter Eggs is verboten so they’re now called “Cadbury Milk Chocolate Eggs”, but the company is proud to announce that their “whatever” eggs are Halal certified even though Muslims don’t celebrate Easter.
Got that? Just never mind that Easter is about the resurrection of Christ.
Maybe next year.